Speedster returns to the Lions

Boldwin Hansen returns to the Lions starting lineup as they prepare to face the Bulls in a Currie Cup clash on Wednesday.

There’s also a start for loose striker Lindo Ncusane, who joins Mark Snyman and Cal Smid in the back row.

Hansen, who last played for the Lions when they clashed with the Sharks nearly a month ago, will bring some punching power to the team.

Lions head coach Mziwakhe Nkosi believes the theme of this year’s competition was to give young players the chance to launch their careers.

“History has shown time and time again that the Currie Cup has won many players calls to international club competitions and domestic honours,” Nkosi said.

Nkosi believes that even if the results aren’t there, backing the youngsters is a bold move that will add depth to the franchise.

“We have always supported our young people within our system, and that is something we have been bold in since the start of our campaign,” he added.

He recognizes, however, that the game against the Bulls would be a challenge but that his young team would be up for it.

“We will be starting tomorrow against a very good team from the Bulls. There are a few guys in Game 23 who will be eager to impress and make the most of the opportunity.”

Kick off is at 8:00 p.m.


the Lions

15 EW Viljoen, 14 Boldwin Hansen, 13 James Mollentze, 12 Luke Rossouw, 11 Zeilinga Strydom, 10 James Tedder, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Cal Smid, 7 Lindo Ncusane, 6 Mark Snyman, 5 Simon Dinisio, 4 Lunga Ncube, 3 Asenathi Ntlabakanye (captain), 2 Morne Brandon, 1 Kayden Kiewit

Subs: 16 Ebot Buma, 17 Jacque-Lois du Toit, 18 Kabous Bezuidenhout, 19 Connor van Buuren, 20 Sasko Ndlovu, 21 Jurich Claasens, 22 Tyler Bocks, 23 Fred Zeilinga


15 David Kriel, 14 Sibongile Novuka, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Juan Mostert, 9 Bernard van der Linde, 8 Muller Uys, 7 Werner Gouws, 6 WJ Steenkamp, ​​5 Reinhardt Ludwig, 4 Raynard Roets, 3 Robert Hunt, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Lizo Gqoboka (captain)

Subs: 16 Joe van Zyl, 17 Cebo Dlamini, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Ruan Delport 20 Jaco Labuschagne, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 James Verity-Amm

Charles P. Patton